Uncategorized

An 18th century petticoat

i finished the first of my 2 18th century petticoats the other day.  It’s 100% hand sewn!

They’re not difficult to make, and there’s a few tutorials online. 

  
I used a blanket stitch to hold the pleats in place and used 1/2″ linen tape for the binding and 1/4″ linen tape for the ties.  The tape is sewn on using a spaced back stitch. 

  
My underpinnings are quite finished yet (my ugly puffer needs the front gathered and I *hate* gathering stitches). I’m hoping it’ll be level once all of that is done lol. Otherwise I’ll have to rebalance the back side. 

  
I do quite enjoy the way the pleats look and I’ve learnt a few things for the next one (in blue). 

Leave a Reply

